Finally, A Feminist I Like (Part 1)

by Kiko Matsing

Laura Ingraham Eve Ensler

Whilst listening to podcasts of The Laura Ingraham Show–yes, I’m a fan of her biting wit aimed mostly at anti-Americans in the far-far-left (e.g. Ayers)–I came across one of her mocking renditions of liberal non sequiturs: a blogpost at The Huffington Post by Eve Ensler on why Sarah Palin gives her the spooks. The post, from the author of The Vagina Monologues, has of course the token incantatory title of “Drill, Drill, Drill”.

If the Polar Bears don’t move you to go and do everything in your power to get Obama elected then consider the chant that filled the hall after Palin spoke at the RNC, “Drill Drill Drill.” I think of teeth when I think of drills. I think of rape. I think of destruction. I think of domination. I think of military exercises that force mindless repetition, emptying the brain of analysis, doubt, ambiguity or dissent. I think of pain. (from “Drill, Drill, Drill”)

Talk about exalted expectations on the new presidency! Obama is not only supposed to bail out the economy, but now save polar bears to boot. What, by the way, was the basis for her objections against drilling? She does not rebutt with facts nor with instruments of logic, but with nebulous free associations and alliterations: drilling equals rape equals destruction equals domination, and, while we’re at it, why not throw in the trite fact that drill is also what they call training in the army (duh?), the mere mention of which must unleash chauvinistic issues like a can of worms.

But why do polar bears so concern Ms. Ensler?

I have a particular thing for Polar Bears. Maybe it’s their snowy whiteness or their bigness or the fact that they live in the arctic or that I have never seen one in person or touched one. Maybe it is the fact that they live so comfortably on ice. Whatever it is, I need the polar bears. (from “Drill, Drill, Drill”)

Wait! This manic fretting sounds a wee bit too familiar.

Woman 1: I bet you’re worried.
Woman 2: We were worried.
Woman 3: We were worried about vaginas.
Woman 1: We were worried about what we think about vaginas, and even more worried that we don’t think about them. We were worried about our own vaginas. They needed a context of other vaginas–a community, a culture of vaginas… (from The Vagina Monologues)

Oh dear. No wonder she’s afraid of the gun-totting, oil-drilling governor of Alaska. Sarah Palin may actually have (yikes!) balls! She’s a freak of nature!–an outcast from Ensler’s utopic community/culture of vaginas.

But everything Sarah Palin believes in and practices is antithetical to Feminism which for me is part of one story–connected to saving the earth, ending racism, empowering women, giving young girls options, opening our minds, deepening tolerance, and ending violence and war. (from “Drill, Drill, Drill”)

I did not know that “feminism” meant all that. Last time I checked my Oxford Dictionary widget, it meant “the advocacy of women’s rights on the grounds of political, social, and economic equality to men”. Nothing there about saving the earth nor ending racism. Granted, feminism, like Marxism, is used nowadays as a broader critical framework. Is this perhaps why Ensler capitalizes the word, e.g. in order to elevate it as some metaphysical reality, or as totalizing category? Or, as I suspect from her previous effusions, it has simply been hijacked for her own ideological agenda, or muddled by her inability to discriminate. It is pretty clear whose brain is empty of analysis.

