Two (Scholarly) Love Poems

by Kiko Matsing

from On Love
by Edward Hirsch, Knopf, 1998


Dead Sea Scrolls

1.    Dead Sea Scrolls

I was like the words
              on a papyrus apocryphon
                           buried in a cave at Qumran,

and you were the scholar
              I had been waiting for
                           all my life, the one reader

who unravelled the scrolls
             and understood the language
                            and deciphered its mysteries.

2.     A Treatise on Ecstasy

Touching your body
        I was like a rabbi pouring
                  over a treatise on ecstasy,
                            the message hidden in the scrolls.

I remember our delirium
        as my fingers moved backwards
                  across the page, letter by letter,
                            word by word, sentence by sentence.

I was a devoted scholar
         patiently tracing the secret
                  passages of a mysterious text.
                             Our room became a holy place

as my hands trembled
          and my voice shook
                 when I recited the blessings
                             of a book that burst into flames.

