Aztec New Age

by Kiko Matsing




Ventura, CA (2015)

Ventura Center for Spiritual Living, where “all beings as valued expressions of Spirit, regardless of sexual orientation, ethnicity, gender, socio-economic class, disability, creed, size, shape or any other manifestation of the human experience” are welcome. I’ll pass. As Woody Allen said: “I’d never join a club that would allow a person like me to become a member.” Their requirements are just too low. I would like to aspire to the judgmental approval of conservative Christians.

The building used to be Ventura First Baptist until the 1950s. It was built in the Mayan Revival Style of the 1920s Art Deco period. I think it works better as a New Age feel-good pseudo-church, and the former occupants may have been the first to realize that.

